Expertise: Product Development

It is fundamentally important for a successful new product development to understand the needs of your target group. Ideally, the process of product development is consequently attuned to the relevant customer groups. This can only be done based on early and continuous testing of your ideas for new products.

Some call it design thinking, others call it agile market research. We call it market research that is consequently tailored to your requirements and methodologically sound at the same time.

nuggets offers a broad portfolio of approaches and tools to accompany you from the development of your product strategy and product development on, from the first idea to a successful launch of your product on the market (and beyond).

Product Development: Our Portfolio in Detail

Whether it is basic research, classic product tests, a tasting at a test studio or approaches with an in-home-use-phase: nuggets always provides the suitable method, to accompany your product development process in an optimum way.

Usage & Attitude: Basic Research with the nuggets MarketExplorer!

A targeted product policy requires an in-depth understanding of your target-group and its basic dispositions regarding behavior.

For this means, nuggets has developed MarketExplorer!, based on many years of experience with usage & attitude studies in various product categories.

The nuggets MarketExplorer! is a usage & attitude approach based on a well-established procedure. U&A studies can be conducted very efficiently by using survey blocks. At the same time, the tool provides enough flexibility to be adapted to specific needs and issues.

The nuggets MarketExplorer! helps you to …

  • Identify positioning gaps on the market via need-gap analysis
  • Uncover potentials for the introduction of new products
  • Determine the sales drivers and barriers of your brand and products (for example with classic driver analyses or penalty-reward analyses)
  • Identify your core target group and describe it in detail (for example by means of a target group segmentation or a CHAID-analysis)
  • Optimize your product design
  • Make your communications even more effective (see our approaches to packaging design and Advertising Research).

Usage & Attitude studies using the nuggets MarketExplorer!

The nuggets MarketExplorer! can be supplemented by additional modules:

  • As an Add-On to the MarketExplorer! a qualitative approach like an internet blog or a diary is helpful to gain more in-depth insights into the living environment and everyday consume in the context of your products.
  • A brief concept test, integrated into the MarketExplorer!, gives the chance to test first ideas at an early stage and to use them for future product design.

Concept Test

A failed product launch usually is many times more expensive than market research. Ideally, you should test your new product with your target group as early as possible. We use the suitable method, depending on the question you pose. That way, a higher number of product ideas can be tested at an early stage efficiently and quickly by using a qualitative concept test or a concept screening – before a lot of money has been invested in product development already. With more complex products or pay scale concepts for services, a conjoint analysis often is the most suitable approach.

If the product development process is advanced to such an extent that there is a prototype or even a finished product already available, it can be tested in a concept-use test.

Feature or Configuration Test

Whether it is about services, electrical goods or other complex products: If you ask about the optimum in terms of product features, a conjoint test can be a suitable option. But often a MaxDiff is enough already. nuggets recommends to you the right procedure to measurement preference, fitting best to your specific question.

Variety Test

The introduction of new varieties of a successful product can be an efficient product strategy. Especially in FMCG markets it is decisive to be able to assess the potential of new types early on. With a type test we can find out which new variations have the highest acceptance within the target group and are suitable for a product introduction. In combination with a TURF analysis, we determine for you, with which combinations of varieties your customer reach can be expanded to a maximum in the future.

Product Test

Depending on the objective, a product can be tested in a situation that is as close to everyday life as possible with an in-home-use-test or alternatively – if a standardized survey under controlled conditions is required – at a studio test. The test studios of our partners are equipped for testing various product categories, even the preparation of food products in a roomy test kitchen can be conducted.

Sensory Test with the nuggets MES!

With a product development you often want an assessment of the regular consumer in order to meet the taste of the ‘general public’. With the nuggets MES! we support the optimization of your products with meaningful results and in-depth guidance for further actions.

The MES (=magnitude estimation scaling) method is characterized by a scale that can be chosen freely and which has no upper limit.
Other than standardized tools, this scale allows for a proportionate assessment of products, as the range of the scale always is high enough. This way, even very subtle differences between products can become measurable by interviewing ‚ordinary‘ consumers.

With the MES method, the participants assess…

  • … different products which are similar in terms of product category (for example different versions of strawberry yoghurt)
  • … in rotating order
  • … based on given attributes (for example tastes sweet, is creamy, tastes fresh, …)
  • … in proportion to each other

The nuggets MES! can be used for all kinds of questions:

  • Development of new products: Which of the newly developed recipes is the best one (possibly compared to a benchmark as well)?
  • Optimization of products: How can I improve my product? Is this realized and rewarded by the consumer?
  • Cost savings: Is a change of recipe due to more cost efficient ingredients realized by the consumer at all?
  • Benchmark comparison and test of market influences in the competition: Is a better recipe the reason for higher sales figures (for example of a competitor) or may image reasons be responsible?

The nuggets MES! provides a lot of benefits:

Advantages of a sensory test with MES

The nuggets MES! succeeds in turning ‚ordinary‘ consumers ad hoc into sensory experts.

Your benefits: A method which can be learned by consumers easily, providing in-depth knowledge about your product in a cost and time efficient way. This is what makes the nuggets MES! the optimum method for the optimization of the recipes of your products.

It depends on the details and the context of your objectives in what way we can support you to develop successful products. Please get in touch with us anytime – we are happy to advise you.

+49 40 466 56 79 00

info@nuggets-mr.de

Expertise: Produktentwicklung

Für eine erfolgreiche Produktneuentwicklung ist es fundamental wichtig, die Bedürfnisse Ihrer Zielgruppe zu verstehen. Idealerweise wird der Produktentwicklungsprozess konsequent an den relevanten Kundengruppen ausgerichtet. Das kann nur durch frühzeitiges und kontinuierliches Testen Ihrer Neuproduktideen geschehen.

Manche nennen es Design Thinking, andere agile Marktforschung. Wir nennen es konsequent an Ihren Bedürfnissen ausgerichtete aber auch methodisch fundierte Marktforschung.

nuggets bietet Ihnen ein umfangreiches Portfolio verschiedener Ansätze und Tools, um Sie bei der Ausrichtung Ihrer Produktstrategie und der Produktentwicklung von der ersten Idee bis hin zur erfolgreichen Produkteinführung im Markt (und darüber hinaus) zu begleiten.

Produktentwicklung: Unser Portfolio im Detail

Ob Grundlagenforschung, klassische Konzept-Produkttests, eine Verkostung im Teststudio oder Ansätze mit In-Home-Use-Phase: nuggets bietet stets die passende Methode, um Sie im Produktentwicklungsprozess optimal zu begleiten.

Usage&Attitude: Grundlagenforschung mit dem nuggets MarketExplorer!

Für eine zielgerichtete Produktpolitik bedarf es eines detaillierten Verständnisses Ihrer Zielgruppe sowie ihrer grundlegenden Verhaltensdispositionen.

Dafür hat nuggets auf Basis langjähriger Erfahrung mit Usage&Attitude Studien in verschiedenen Produktkategorien den MarketExplorer! entwickelt.

Der nuggets MarketExplorer! ist ein Usage&Attitude-Ansatz, der auf einem bewährten Verfahren basiert. Durch die Nutzung standardisierter Befragungsblöcke lassen sich U&A-Studien äußerst effizient durchführen. Gleichzeitig bietet das Tool hinreichend Flexibilität zur Anpassung an Ihre speziellen Bedürfnisse und Fragestellungen.

Der nuggets MarketExplorer! hilft Ihnen …

  • Positionierungslücken im Markt mittels Need-Gap-Analyse zu erkennen
  • Potenzial für Produktneueinführungen aufzudecken
  • die Kauf-Treiber und -Barrieren Ihrer Marke bzw. Produkte zu ermitteln (z.B. mit klassischen Treiberanalysen oder Penalty-Reward-Analysen)
  • Ihre Kernzielgruppe zu identifizieren und im Detail zu beschreiben (z.B. mit Hilfe einer Zielgruppensegmentierung oder einer CHAID-Analyse)
  • Ihre Produktgestaltung zu optimieren
  • Ihre Kommunikation noch effektiver zu gestalten (s. hierzu auch unsere Ansätze zu Verpackungsdesign und Werbewirkungsforschung)

Usage & Attitude-Forschung mit dem nuggets MarketExplorer!

Der nuggets MarketExplorer! kann durch weitere Module ergänzt werden:

  • Als Add-On hilft ein qualitativer Ansatz wie z.B. ein Internet Blog oder Diary, tiefergehende Einblicke in die Lebenswelt und den Konsumentenalltag im Kontext mit Ihren Produkten zu bekommen.
  • Ein kurzer, in den MarketExplorer! integrierter Konzepttest bietet die Möglichkeit in einem frühen Stadium erste Ideen zu überprüfen und für die zukünftige Produktgestaltung zu nutzen.

Konzepttest

Eine gefloppte Produkteinführung ist in der Regel um ein Vielfaches teurer als eine Marktforschung. Idealerweise sollten Sie Ihre Neuproduktideen so früh wie möglich bei Ihrer Zielgruppe überprüfen. Dabei bedienen wir uns in Abhängigkeit von Ihrer Fragestellung der passenden Methode. So kann in einem qualitativen Konzepttest oder einem Konzeptscreening eine größere Anzahl an Produktideen in einem frühen Stadium effizient und schnell auf ihr Marktpotenzial überprüft werden – bevor viel Geld in die Produktentwicklung investiert wurde. Bei komplexeren Produkten oder Tarifkonzepten für Dienstleistungen ist oft eine Conjoint-Analyse der bestgeeignete Ansatz.

Ist der Produktentwicklungsprozess bereits so weit vorangeschritten, dass ein Prototyp oder sogar das fertige Produkt verfügbar ist, kann dieses in einem Concept-Use-Test getestet werden.

Feature- bzw. Ausstattungstest

Ob Dienstleistung, Elektronikartikel oder andere komplexe Produkte: wenn sich die Frage nach den optimalen Produktmerkmalen stellt, kann ein Conjoint-Ansatz angezeigt sein. Oftmals tut es aber auch ein MaxDiff. nuggets empfiehlt Ihnen das richtige Präferenzmessungsverfahren, das für Ihre spezifische Fragestellung am besten geeignet ist.

Sortentest

Die Einführung von neuen Sorten eines erfolgreichen Produkts kann eine effiziente Produktstrategie sein. Vor allem in FMCG-Märkten ist es entscheidend, früh das Potenzial neuer Sorten abschätzen zu können. Mit einem Sortentest können wir für Sie ermitteln, welche der neuen Varianten die größte Akzeptanz innerhalb der Zielgruppe erreichen und für eine Produkteinführung geeignet sind. Kombiniert mit einer TURF-Analyse ermitteln wir für Sie, mit welchen Sorten-Kombinationen sich zukünftig die Käuferreichweite maximieren lässt.

Produkttest

Je nach Zielsetzung kann ein Produkt in einer möglichst alltagsnahen Situation in einem In-Home-Use Tests oder auch – wenn eine standardisierte Befragung unter kontrollierten Bedingungen erforderlich ist – in einem Studiotest überprüft werden. Die Teststudios unserer Partner sind für den Test vieler Produktkategorien ausgestattet, so dass sich sogar die Zubereitung von Food-Artikeln in einer geräumigen Testküche realisieren lässt.

Sensoriktest mit dem nuggets MES!

In der Produktentwicklung ist oft das Urteil des normalen Konsumenten gefragt, wenn es darum geht, den Geschmack der „breiten Masse“ zu treffen. Mit dem nuggets MES! helfen wir Ihnen mit aussagekräftigen Ergebnissen und detaillierten Handlungsempfehlungen bei der Produktoptimierung.

Die MES (=Magnitude Estimation Scaling) Methodik zeichnet sich durch eine frei wählbare, nach oben offene Skala aus.
Anders als standardisierte Tools ermöglicht diese Skala eine verhältnisgerechte Bewertung von Produkten, bei der der Skalenumfang stets ausreichend groß ist. Auch sehr feine Unterschiede zwischen Produkten können so durch die Befragung von „ganz normalen“ Konsumenten messbar gemacht werden.

Bei der MES-Methodik bewerten die Probanden…

  • verschiedene, kategorisch aber ähnliche Produkte (z. B. Varianten eines Erdbeerjoghurts)
  • in rotierter Reihenfolge
  • anhand vorgegebener Attribute (z. B. schmeckt süß, ist cremig, schmeckt frisch, …)
  • im Verhältnis zueinander

Der nuggets MES! lässt sich für die verschiedensten Fragestellungen einsetzen:

  • Produktneuentwicklungen: Welche der entwickelten Rezepturen ist die optimale (ggf. auch gegenüber einer Benchmark)?
  • Produktoptimierungen: Wie kann ich mein Produkt verbessern? Merkt und honoriert der Verbraucher dies?
  • Cost Savings: Wird eine Veränderung der Rezeptur aufgrund kosteneffizienterer Zutaten überhaupt wahrgenommen?
  • Benchmarkvergleich und Prüfung von Markeneinflüssen im Wettbewerb: Liegen höhere Absatzzahlen (z.B. eines Wettbewerbers) in einer besseren Rezeptur begründet oder sind ggf. Imagegründe verantwortlich?

Dabei bietet die Methodik zahlreiche Vorteile:

Magnitute Estimation Scaling - Vorteile Sensoriktest MES

Dem nuggets MES! gelingt es adhoc ‚normale‘ Konsumenten zu sensorischen Experten werden zu lassen.

Die Vorteile für Sie: Eine für Konsumenten einfach erlernbare Methodik, die Ihnen detaillierte Erkenntnisse über Ihr Produkt zeit- und kosteneffizient zugänglich macht.
Der nuggets MES! ist somit die optimale Methodik zur zielgerichteten Rezepturoptimierung Ihrer Produkte.

Wie wir Sie bei der Entwicklung von erfolgreichen Produkten unterstützen können ist von den Details und dem Kontext Ihrer Fragestellung abhängig. Melden Sie sich gern jederzeit bei uns – wir beraten Sie gern!

+49 40 466 56 79 00

info@nuggets-mr.de